The All Comforting, Meatball Sub.

The All Comforting, Meatball Sub.

Wow! It has been a hell of week, very busy! I managed to screw up my toe at the start of the week, and I’ve been limping ever since. I’ve also been busy working on various projects, and my team, Liverpool, managed to lose the UEFA Cup, badly. So it has been a hell of a week, and this is why I’ve not been too active.

That being said, I have been busy cooking this week, and I’ve been trying out a number of new recipes which will be coming your way some day soon. Two of my culinary highlights this week, would have to be rendang, and butter chicken curry, both big favourites of mine. However, I’ve decided today maybe the best time to bring in my first Western Recipe.

That has to be a Meatball Sub, which is one of my ultimate comfort foods. It brings me back to my hell raising days of university, when I’d roll out of bed hungover, and I’d stagger to the local subway for this messy beauty. Unfortunately, my hell raising days have slowly petered out, but my love for this exquisite sandwich has not. It is a great pick me up, and a real reminder of home. Something very important when living abroad.

image

It is simple to make, and meatballs and marinara are easy to freeze and store. So let’s get making that piece of heaven, that will help me get over Liverpool’s shocking loss to Sevila.

Meatballs
250g mince beef
1 heel of a loaf of bread – the bit at the end.
2 pinches of dried thyme
2 pinches of dried rosemary
pinch of salt
pinch of black pepper

It is so easy to make, and make sure you do use one heel of bread. It is no filler, trust me, the bread soaks up all the juices, and makes it juicy and delicious.

1.Put into a bowl, and mix it all together, really give it a good knead.

Note: make a small burger patty, and fry it now, taste it and adjust as necessary.

2. Roll it up into small ping pong sized balls. I like to roll it once to get the correct amount, then I squash it and mix it together a bit more. Then I roll it into the final result. I just find this way ensures it sticks together best when cooking.

3. The mix should make around 17 – 18 meatballs. 17 if you followed my instruction regarding the taste check.

Marinara
4 good sized tomatoes – sliced into chunks
1 onion – well diced
3 cloves of garlic – minced
1 teaspoon of dried basil
1 teaspoon of dried oregano
2 tablespoons of olive oil
1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar
salt and pepper to taste.
1 cup of water
1/2 beef stock cube
Meatballs

This marinara is so simple, and doesn’t use a complicated list of ingredients. So you do need to use the best stock cube, and tomatoes you can afford. The individual ingredients really do punch their own weight here.

1. Put the olive oil in the pan on medium – high heat, and sweat off the onion and garlic. We’re not looking for colour here, just to get there onions to begin to go translucent.

2. Introduce the tomatoes to the pan, and cover it. Allow the tomatoes to cook down for 5 to 10 minutes, and allow them to add their moisture to the mix.

3. Add in all the final ingredients (not the meatballs), and let it cook down on a rolling boil for another 5 minutes.

4. Put the marinara into a blender, and blitz down to a smooth consistency.

5. Return to the pan, and then either add water, or reduce the liquid until the desired viscosity is acquired.

6. Finally, fry the meatballs until golden brown, but not completely cooked, then add them to the mix, and allow the residual heat to finish the cook. They also get the chance to soak up that amazing sauce.

Assembly

Ingredients
Meatball Marinara – I use 4 – 6 balls per six inch sub.
Olive Oil
6 inch baguette
Mozzarella

The final piece is very easy to put together. So simple.

1.Quickly drip some olive oil on the baguette, having opened it up, then crisp it up on a dry pan. If you have a griddle pan, then even better; get some nice char.

2. Apply the mozzarella to the toasted bun, and then slather the sauce and meatballs onto the bread. If you have a grill – I don’t – then put the mozzarella on top of the sauce, and meatballs, then grill it until melted. I do it the other way to achieve gooey cheese.

3. Put it in your mouth, and breath a sigh of happinesimage

s

One thought on “The All Comforting, Meatball Sub.

Leave a Reply

